This weekend I have been evaluating  Castle’s ActiveRecord as an object relation mapping solution. It is built upon NHibernate and is an implementation of the active record design pattern.

After browsing the quick start documentation and a couple of trips to Google, I had a simple object mapped to a table and was happily completing operations within my applications controller using Castle’s friendly syntax.

My first thoughts have been very positive. I had much less to do in the way of configuration than when using NHibernate on it’s own. This held true for both the general configuration (Indeed, ActiveRecord did not require any alteration of the web.config at all!) and on an object to object basis as mapping is done by the assigning of ActiveRecord attributes to the properties of the corresponding class (No more XML mapping files to maintain.)

