Blog posting has taken a back seat over the last few weeks. Whilst I was keenly aware of this, I was quite proud to have one of my readers point this out to me! (ED: to date I have one confirmed reader. Thanks Barry!) The lack of posts has something to do with the paper wedding anniversary, a lot of reading and my regular reader distracting me with many new avenues of my geekitude to investigate (FP, Scheme etc.)

My first wedding anniversary was a wonderful affair; an affirmation of adoration. I am truly blessed to have my wife as my best friend. Although it must be pointed out the acronym BOF is usually associated with beginning of file darling and NOT boring old fart! We gifted each other a shopping trip at Foyle’s, our favourite bookstore haunt.

As usual my shopping at Foyle’s began in the computing section. I would like to strongly advise everyone who practises the craft of software development to give The Practices of an Agile Developer by Venkat Subramaniam and Andy Hunt a read. It is readable, relevant and full of pithy phrases you can throw around nonchalantly! I found it affirmed what I liked best about my own practices and highlighted more than a few things I could improve at.

Next week, Steve McConnell’s Code Complete 2. I have a perchance for platform independent books that offer pearls of wisdom about my chosen profession.

