How do you get to be a great musician? It helps to know the theory, and to understand the mechanics of your instrument. It helps to have talent. But ultimately, greatness comes practicing; applying the theory over and over again, using feedback to get better every time.

How do you get to be an All-Star sports person? Obviously fitness and talent help. But the great athletes spend hours and hours every day, practicing.

The Pragmatic Programmer’s Code Kata. I will be devising a kata for myself and hopefully my team members in the next couple of days. It will be a test-driven data access layer calling a single stored procedure from a SQL Server. Many birds will be hit by this stone!

EDIT: After a topsy-turvy time, I finally got the first of my Kata done. I used the Sieve of Eratosthenes algorithm as my first practice.

